“Lakshadweep, the group of 36 islands is known for its exotic and sun-kissed beaches and lush green landscape. The name Lakshadweep in Malayalam and Sanskrit means ‘a hundred thousand islands’. ”

India’s smallest Union Territory Lakshadweep is an archipelago consisting of 36 islands with an area of 32 sq km. It is a uni-district Union Territory and comprises of 12 atolls, three reefs, five submerged banks and ten inhabited islands. The islands have a total area of 32 sq km. The capital is Kavaratti and it is also the principal town of the UT. All Islands are 220 to 440 km away from the coastal city of Kochi in Kerala, in the emerald Arabian Sea. The natural landscapes, the sandy beaches, abundance of flora and fauna and the absence of a rushed lifestyle enhance the mystique of Lakshadweep.

Only BSNL and Airtel provides telecommunication services to Lakshadweep Islands. BSNL provides connectivity in all 10 inhabited islands where as Airtel provides connectivity to Kavaratti and Agatti islands.

The entry to Lakshadweep islands is restricted. One requires an entry permit issued by Lakshadweep Administration to visit these islands.

Read More

Your Support Matters

Generous contributions are requested from all towards Disaster Relief Fund for strengthening UTL Administration’s fight against COVID19.

Updates on COVID-19

Latest News, Updates, FAQ and Notices for General Public on the Corona Pandemic

Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar


Applications are invited for awards on Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar by National Disaster Management Authority, Government of India. Visit

for more details.


Download Arogya Setu App

Aarogya Setu is a mobile application developed by the Government of India to connect essential health services with the people of India in our combined fight against COVID-19.
Google Play Store
Get from Appstore




Administrator of Lakshadweep UT
Hon'ble Administrator Shri. Dineshwar Sharma IPS
Shri. Mihir Vardhan, IAS
Advisor to Hon'ble Administrator Shri Mihir Vardhan IAS
Collector UTL Shri. Vijendra Singh Rawat IAS
Secretary Education Shri Shiv Kumar IAS
Shri. Om Prakash Mishra
Secretary Agriculture Shri. Om Prakash Mishra
Secretary Food & Civil Supplies, Industries, Art & Culture, Panchayat and Legal Metrology
Secretary Food and Civil Supplies Shri Sushil Singh
Senior SP
Deputy Inspector General of Police Shri Shibesh Singh IPS
Resident Commissioner Lakshadweep
Resident Commissioner Shri. Asarpal Singh



There is no Event.


  • ArogyaSetu IVRS - 1921
  • Child Helpline - 1098
  • Women Helpline - 1091
  • Ambulance -102, 108
  • Fire and Rescue - 101
  • PDS Grievances - 1967
  • Electricity Grievances - 04896-263709