Subdivision & Blocks

Prior to the formation of this Union Territory on 1st November,1956, these Islands formed part of the erstwhile Madras State. The entire group of Islands is considered as one District and divided into four Tahsils and each put in charge of a Tahsildar, except Minicoy where the post of Tahsildar was abolished and a Deputy Collector appointed in August,1978. The lowest revenue official in each Island was known as “Amin” in Laccadive group and Minicoy and “Karani” in Amindivi group. Now they are designated as “Amin” in all Islands.

The Headquarters of the Administration was shifted from Calicut(Kerala State) to Kavaratti Island in March,1964. When the annual expenditure to be incurred by the Administration went beyond Rs. 3 Crores,the necessity for decentralisation of the departments was felt and accordingly new offices were created in 1972. The Administrator appointed under Article 239 of the constitution is the head of this U.T. Though the departmental offices are working separately, the Administrator’s Secretariat and District Administration are functioning as compact units under a single file system till recently. Matters relating to the District Administration, law and order are under the purview of the Collector-Cum-Development Commissioner who is also the District Magistrate. Consequent on the appointment of Managing Director Lakshadweep Development Corporation and Secretary Pay and Accounts, the development subjects were alloted among these officers including the Collector-cum-Development Commissioner in their ex-officio capacity as secretaries of the alloted departments.

Under the District Magistrate there are one Addl. District Magistrate and Nine Executive Magistrates. Four special types of C.D. Blocks started functioning with their Headquarters at Kavaratti, Andrott, Amini and Minicoy from January, 1971 onwards. The Amini Block was later bifurcated into two from 2nd October 1976 that is (1) C.D.Block Amini consisting of Amini and Kadmat Islands with Headquarters at Amini (2) C.D.Block Kiltan consisting of Kitan, Chetlat and Bitra Islands with Headquarters at Kiltan. Thus there are five blocks in this Union Territory now.

To bring the Administration closer to the people all the inhabited Islands along with their attached Islands and islets, were divided into nine Subdivisions Additional Sub Divisions in 1983. Each Sub Division/is under the charge of a Sub-Divisional Officer. They are also Executive Magistrates for respective Islands. They also function as Block Development Officers or Addl. Block Development Officers for these Islands.

Co-Ordination of all Development activities and Implementation of all programmes coming under the community Development Block and the area developmental programmes under the Five Year Plan Schemes in these Divisions and SubDivisions are the responsibility of these officers. Apart from liaising between the various departmental Administrative powers for local Administration, these Officers also head Block levelCommittees in their areas.