“Lakshadweep, the group of 36 islands is known for its exotic and sun-kissed beaches and lush green landscape. The name Lakshadweep in Malayalam and Sanskrit means ‘a hundred thousand islands’. ”

India’s smallest Union Territory Lakshadweep is an archipelago consisting of 36 islands with an area of 32 sq km. It is a uni-district Union Territory and comprises of 12 atolls, three reefs, five submerged banks and ten inhabited islands. The islands have a total area of 32 sq km. The capital is Kavaratti and it is also the principal town of the UT. All Islands are 220 to 440 km away from the coastal city of Kochi in Kerala, in the emerald Arabian Sea. The natural landscapes, the sandy beaches, abundance of flora and fauna and the absence of a rushed lifestyle enhance the mystique of Lakshadweep.

Only BSNL and Airtel provides telecommunication services to Lakshadweep Islands. BSNL provides connectivity in all 10 inhabited islands where as Airtel provides connectivity to Kavaratti and Agatti islands.

The entry to Lakshadweep islands is restricted. One requires an entry permit issued by Lakshadweep Administration to visit these islands.

Read More

National Health ID Card

Health ID will make it easy for you to securely access digital health and care services. You can set up your Health ID and password and get started using just your mobile phone number or aadhaar number.

Hon'ble Administrator Shri. Praful Patel

Glimpses of G-20 

  • G20-11
  • G20-10
  • G20-9
  • G20-8
  • G20-7
  • G20-6
  • G20-5
  • G20-4
  • G20-3
  • G20-2
  • G20-1





  • ArogyaSetu IVRS - 1921
  • Child Helpline - 1098
  • Women Helpline - 1091
  • Ambulance -102, 108
  • Fire and Rescue - 101
  • PDS Grievances - 1967
  • Electricity Grievances - 04896-263709